Smells like home

Well this weekend we celebrated Benjamin’s birthday. He asked for, of all things, a black chicken. So Sunday we ended up with a total of 5 hens and a rooster. We had a great time this weekend with family over and we even put up a trampoline. The kids are really enjoying that so far. Of course I’m probably enjoying the trampoline just as much as they are. Haha.
Today was another day of french classes. I have to park a few blocks away to have free parking. While walking to class, watching the ground as I was walking, I suddenly smelled a very familiar smell that just screamed home. I just stopped and looked around, and there growing over the edge of a wall was honey suckle. It was so funny that as soon as I smelled that I immediately associated it with how home would smell. Of course the smell of that honey suckle didn’t fit in with the smell of the city, but it was a great reminder of North Carolina that I was glad for today. 🙂

20140603-154806.jpg

Leave a Reply

